Skip to content

Cut Shaving

March 7, 2007

Okay, so I am at work and I realize I need to shave. Tonight we are having our Medical Mission and as the Pastor I should look pastorly, is that even a word. By the way my spell check is freaking out I’m sure it isn’t. Anyway, you may or may not know that I spent 10 years in graphic design making pretty pictures and selling widgets to unsuspecting lemmings like you.

Now you know why you not only have a George Forman Grill but the Deluxe George Foreman Grill and the Non-stick easy clean George Foreman Grill and the one shaped like his head George Foreman Grill. Those marketers, but I digress.

So I am setting up our sanctuary to look like a waiting room for those we serve in the name of Jesus and I start to itch. I forgot to shave and as I was saying before I so rudely ran off track, I spent 10 years in graphic design where I always wore jeans and a ball cap and never shaved because that was what designers did. That has been one of those key sticking points as a Pastor. I don’t usually like to look like one if you know what I mean.

I don’t always shave, I don’t wear the slacks and I certainly can’t do golf shirts, something about them just isn’t me. I avoid the ball cap but in many ways I dress the same. Since I don’t shave on a regular basis sometimes I forget when I really should have a clean shaven face.

So here is what happened. We give a lot of different things away and have done so over the years. One thing we do is a big back to school Medical Mission where we give out school supplies to those in need, give eye exams and give vouchers for glasses, etc. Well we also seem to give away razors and shaving cream along with soap and shampoo. Now don’t ask me why someone gives shaving cream and razors away for back to school, I mean unless we were trying to give something for those high school aged students. This is stuff from before my time, I just work here you know.

Well I needed to shave and I can’t get home and back before the big event. You can already tell what I did. I went into our closet and grabbed a couple of single blade razors and a can of shaving cream. Now we have had these razors for several years but my face was looking bad.

I went into the men’s restroom but I couldn’t get any hot water. I of course figured this out after I had applied the shaving cream. Picture me wondering around our building with my freshly applied shaving cream beard. I went to the kitchen and turned on the hot water. The only problem was there was no mirror, so I grabbed a coffee cup and filled it with hot water and headed back to the restroom.

I don’t know if you shave with a single blade but I don’t. I don’t know if you use somewhat hot water, but I don’t. That is what I had and it ripped my face up. So my face is in pain, I had to go and get water in the middle, and I have several spots that are bleeding all so I could look like a Pastor for our Medical Mission. The things I do for love.

So my face is on fire and I am now in my office, you see we don’t give any aftershave away with our back to school in case your first grader shaves bag. Then it hits me. I have some lotion in my bathroom. It smell like peaches but who cares, my face is bleeding and on fire.

So I rub the Cocoa Butter Mango Splash all over my face, hey I thought it was peaches. At least it guarantees 24 hour moisturizing. Why I have it is another story that I will share another time. All seems to be well. The bleeding has stopped and I smell of mango.

The things you go for just to look like a Pastor. Note to self, either shave more frequently or keep a Sensor at the office.

God bless and keep up the good work.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 8, 2007 3:29 pm

    Go with the no shave look. Glad you have this new place.

  2. March 8, 2007 5:18 pm

    Thanks. I am looking forward to this one. I want to have more fun with it but still have points.

  3. March 9, 2007 12:55 am

    you the man….I thought you gave up on blogging completely.

  4. March 9, 2007 2:28 am

    I know I’m not the man, just a direction change.

  5. Jim Sexton permalink
    March 11, 2007 7:26 pm

    Grow a beard… I did. =)

    Jimbo

Leave a Reply

