Skip to content

Tulsa Soul Winning Workshop

March 25, 2007

Anyone here go to the Tulsa Workshop this year? Any thoughts? What was your experience like? If you didn’t go have you been before? What kept you this year?

What do you see the future of this event being?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. johndobbs permalink
    March 26, 2007 4:06 pm

    I think there could be a great discussion on what it would take to recapture the 10-12 thousand attendance heights of the past … if that is even possible … what potential reasons for the decline in attendance. For me, however, the program was as powerful as ever and I am as enriched as I could be.

    I wrote three posts about my experience at Tulsa this year.

    It would be a good conversation to have – in answering your questions … and I have some thoughts … but I’m on the run right now.

  2. March 27, 2007 3:05 pm

    Do you think anyone is having that discussion?

    I don’t know. I enjoyed it but I typically go to hear speakers. I think most go to connect with people they know.

    Is it possible or even a good idea to want to recapture the 10 to 12 thousand attendance or is what it is becoming better? I don’t know, I do wonder what people think.

    Are Zoë Conferences more relevant and beneficial? I don’t know but I wonder.

    Thanks for stopping by and adding your thoughts. You had a great class with powerful stories.

  3. Jim Sexton permalink
    March 28, 2007 7:46 pm

    When I was at school at OCC in the early-mid 70’s, I went to a couple of these and was very impressed by the sincerity and desire to do God’s will. I haven’t been to anything like that since, but living for 30+ years in upstate NY I got some of the same great stuff at a variety of men’s retreats and such.

    I think that the smaller sizes of so many things like this, as well as gospel meetings and such, stems from the fact that people can tune in to great speakers (don’t want to discuss who is and isn’t sound in their doctrine, just use this as an example) any time they want to on TV.

    In many areas there are gospel channels, bringing the Lord right into your living room. Those old style meetings allowed one to go and hear a great speaker and teacher, someone that they could not see or hear otherwise. Now, that allure is gone.

    It is like people living near a lake, who have their own swimming pools. Who needs the lake? We can keep it the temp we want, not have to worry about being uncomfortable about unknowns, and can avoid the crowds. Does my analogy make any sense to you? I hope it does, because my experience is that people no longer want their doors knocked, nor do they want to make any special plans to go to ‘this years gospel meeting’.

    Jimbo

  4. March 28, 2007 8:08 pm

    Jim, interesting analogy. So should one worry about the goold ole days or just try to figure out how to be Jesus with what we have today?

Leave a Reply

