Skip to content

Additional Thoughts

April 3, 2007

I have spoken with the church that is bringing Miss America to our fair city. I always planned on speaking with the church involved, I probably should have before I posted my blog comments but I still feel the same way, it just would have been more appropriate to voice my concerns to them first. They assured me that Miss America has a great testimony. Does that change your thoughts on the event?

It still makes me sad that on the day the world celebrates Jesus resurrection that a church thought it would be a good idea to add some bells and whistles to insure a packed house. Now I know they don’t see it that way, they just want to maximize an opportunity, but for me the law of unintended consequences comes into play with these types of events.

You see the church understands why it is doing it but do the lost souls who attend realize this? Do they see the deep loss of Jesus or a chance to meet Miss America? Do they recognize the commercialization Jesus actually hinders their ultimate goal? If Jesus death isn’t enough to get you to worship on the day He rose from the dead is it a good idea to get you there for a chance to take a picture with Miss America?

That is probably what sent me over the edge into sorrow. Bring this paper and get a picture with Miss America 2006. Is anyone going to ask the visitors why they came this morning? Are they going to be pleased when they say it was in hopes of getting a photo with Miss America?

We have lost our way, the compass is broken, we can no longer discern what is a good idea or a bad idea, and numbers are all that matters. We worry more about whether or not the house is full instead of wondering if we are connecting people with a transcendent God through His Son.

I told the church I wasn’t angry with them, just sad. I assured them I understood their reasoning, I just thought it was misguided. I really just think we have lost our way. The goal is no longer to get people to follow Jesus, the goal is to get people to come to a place with Jesus name on it for a myriad of reasons often times having nothing to do with our King or His mission.

If getting people to come to a place with Jesus name on it is the goal why don’t we just sneak over to the local professional football stadium and put our church sign out, then we can tell everyone that we had 60,000+ thousand in attendance for our Sunday service, wouldn’t that sound impressive? Preach a sermon and have a couple of songs by the front entrance and then ask the Spirit to touch their hearts.

If getting large crowds is the goal why not just call the United States a Christian nation and be done with it?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. tidbit permalink
    April 3, 2007 3:46 pm

    Just think how many people would come if we offered free BoTox injections…

  2. April 4, 2007 1:25 pm

    Darin,
    I love your new blog.
    I am glad you didn’t give it up.
    Wade told me you had a new webaddress. I love it!

    I look at how Jesus ministered as the crowds followed him. He would reach the heart of one sinner…and say go sin no more. Heal and say go show yourself to the preist and offer your gift.

    Yes, we do see on the day of pentecost 3,000 or so come to Christ and the Lord added to the number daily those who were being saved. I believe it isn’t in flashy show that people are saved. It is in Christ. It is the Powerful working of the Holy Spirit in our lives. We must reach out and meet the needs of those who are lost. We must stop focusing so much on ourselves and get back to what God has called us to be and do. Offer Grace. Be a safe place to fall.

  3. April 4, 2007 1:33 pm

    Preacherman, thanks for stopping in.

  4. Jim Sexton permalink
    April 4, 2007 7:32 pm

    Preacherman… great words. I can’t add to them, but wish to applaud them none the less.

    Easter isn’t coming… it has already come! We celebrate what we already know, that Christ Jesus is risen from the dead! Not just physical death, but the death of sin.

    I serve a risen saviour…
    Jimbo

Leave a Reply

