Skip to content

City Council Meeting

September 20, 2007

Recently I had the pleasure of actually sitting through a city council meeting. I have been asked on a couple of occasions to do the invocation but this was the first time I actually went to hear about a decision that was being considered.

Our community had an opportunity to put public transportation in place. A shuttle service that would help the elderly and those who needed an inexpensive ride to work. I went at the invitation of those who had sponsored the service. Our city was scheduled to receive around $180,000 in grants that would allow for the startup of service. The city was asked to fund the remaining $40,000.

It was a very interesting discussion. What caught me off guard were the number of people who came to speak against it, not because having rides for the elderly wasn’t a good idea, but because they wanted money for soccer fields and baseball diamonds. They felt like this service would keep them from getting money for their sports leagues.

I must admit that this intrigued me. I understand that those who wanted better soccer fields and more bleachers saw money walking away that could have been theres but I found it interesting that they saw no difference in the two. I could purchase a bleacher or make sure an elderly person can get to the doctor. It is not as if we don’t have soccer fields or baseball diamonds, in fact the item right before was an approval for over $200,000 for sports fields.

I don’t know. I guess I saw what I deal with on a regular basis in a nutshell. A group of people who want more stuff and a group of people who think we should use our stuff to help other people who don’t have more stuff.

In the end I’m not sure a lot of churches don’t fall into the soccer field crowed. Sure it is a worthy cause but we have people who need sports fields and bleachers nicer chairs and bigger auditoriums.

I guess it shouldn’t surprise me at all.

P.S. A part of me didn’t mind if it failed because our church already offers rides for seniors who have needs. It would have given us an opportunity to ask the church to step up as I think we should. In the end it passed 3-2. I guess those soccer fields will have to wait.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. benoverby permalink
    September 21, 2007 11:33 am

    Why should we care about old, lonely people, when we might be able to improve our recreational facilities? We get no personal pleasure out of making sure old folks get from point A to point B. Soccer is recreational, however, and we like it!

    Your priorities are out of whack. Affirm yourself, throw down your cross, and follow the crowd. Old folks are like canned goods in the grocery store. Stick em on a shelf and visit them once a week and they’ll be OK. You’ll spoil them if you start loving them and treating them with dignity.

    What kind of a weird, radical Christian are you anyway? Next thing you know you’ll be supposing we ought to feed the poor or something. Crazy stuff you’re talking. Crazy stuff.

  2. September 25, 2007 3:59 am

    Darin,
    I love soccer.
    I am going to try to get is started here where I am. The reason is because most of the town is Hispanic and I think it would be a go out reach. We live about an hour from the Mexico.

Leave a Reply

