Skip to content

I Can’t Come

October 8, 2007

Last Wednesday was our monthly free Medical Clinic for the uninsured. Around 75% of the people only spoke Spanish. I was frustrated. Two years ago we planted a Spanish language fellowship because of all of the Spanish speaking people who came to our Medical Clinic and Clothes Closet. This fellowship has grown to over 50 people worshiping with many coming to Christ. Why does this frustrate me?

It is kind of a long story in that the church moved out of our building after a few months. Well the people who furnish the support for the Minster who came when the work began won’t allow him to come to our Medical Clinic. It is off limits because we are not a Church of Christ. I find irony in the fact that we helped plant a Spanish language a capella Church of Christ in our building, didn’t worry, just understood these people needed Jesus, and that same ministry now won’t come to our building to minister to the same lost souls because our stage has instruments on it.

Am I the only one who just hears something wrong? So these Spanish speaking people have no one to minister to them because our sign doesn’t say Church of Christ. I really just don’t understand. The strangest thing about it is that the Spanish speaking minister came by Thursday to say hi and to apologize for not coming. He let me know that his hands are tied, he will lose all support if he comes.

I am perfectly comfortable with these people going to a Church of Christ. The minister is Jesus centered, I just don’t understand why someone can’t come and try to introduce them.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 8, 2007 2:41 pm

    Darin,
    I don’t understand it either. It is sad. As my current post says, “I believe we should strive for unity and understand that there is a difference between unity and uniformity.” I pray that God’s people will understand this and will strive for unity. Imagine what would happen it Christian’s everywhere did just that. Darin. Hang in there! I hope and pray that walls and barriers will fall.
    Kinney

  2. johndobbs permalink
    October 12, 2007 11:44 pm

    That’s simply pathetic. Embarassing. I don’t get it.

Leave a Reply

