Skip to content

Unchristian: It’s about…

October 19, 2007

Recently I ran across a marathon session of America’s Top Model. In it three of the remaining models were having a Bible study. I became intrigued wondering how this group would handle the ins and outs of a reality show about modeling.

Well, if you want to see a live illustration of the points I have ran across in Unchristian just watch the season of Top Model that I caught. What are the markers that show one is a Christ follower? Ask those who don’t believe and what do you think they will say? How far would love for neighbor be on the list? Would it even make the list?

Where did Christianity become about being better than others? How did that develop? How did a religion claiming a man hanging on a tree become I am better than all of you heathens? I watched it happen first hand and trust me those far from God totally understood what the Christians thought on the show.

Where did we get the list of Christian identifiers that we are all so known by today?

Let me see, in the first letter to Corinth Paul tells believers that they have no business judging those outside the church (1 Cor. 5:12). I guess since Jesus longs to gather those who are lost under his wing (Luke 13:34 et al) he thought we might feel the same, being as we carry his name. So much for following Jesus example I guess.

Instead we will call them out when we get the chance and let them know they are going to hell. Nice. Is it any wonder that no one thinks of love when they think of Christian? They think about taxes and our supposed disdain, they think about getting rich, they think about nobody taking a drink but no one ever says they really love people.

The book makes the point that we can’t ignore sin but it also wants to show that we can’t use it to hate. One classic line from one of the episodes went something like this, I don’t think Jesus would act like that, I think when she gets to heaven God is going to give her a slap on the face.

I hope he doesn’t wait that long.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 24, 2007 11:30 am

    Wow. I had no idea that they were all 3 Christian. Crazy.

  2. October 24, 2007 2:29 pm

    Preacherman, I might not have been clear. At the point I began watching there were six left, three doing the Bible study.

Leave a Reply

