Skip to content

Grease Monkey Automobile Ministry

November 12, 2007

greasemonkey_logo.jpg

This past summer I attended a meeting to discuss needs in our community. One area that was raised was car repair. Auto repair hits those just getting by the hardest. They are working to make ends meet, doing a good job, but then their car breaks down. What are they going to do? Often times they end up loosing their job and that only compounds an already bad situation.

Since that time I have been asking what can wedo to help in this area. I’m not a car repairman, in fact you wouldn’t want me anywhere near your automobile. I will make it worse not better. Our fellowship has no one with that particular ability. What I struck upon was an idea to go around to area mechanics and ask them to donate their time for one job a year, just one. I told them that we would purchase the parts if they would agree.

Well I must confess that I received a lot of no’s even at one job a year and to a degree I understand. They didn’t know me or the church and wouldn’t know the people they were helping. But I did find some that would agree and my theory is I only need one and at least for that person I can help.

So we have launched our newest outwardly focused ministry. We are working through those same social agents in the community that identified the need to find those people who are working hard but in danger of losing their job because their car doesn’t work. We are also talking with the local crisis pregnancy center because often times women are hit hardest by this need. Obviously this has some limitations, I can’t afford to rebuild an engine, but something is better than nothing.

So who knows, maybe there are mechanics in your area that wouldn’t mind doing a job a year or maybe even three. I advise that you tell them that you will funnel the work through your church, it is good to be safe and make sure the people don’t know which mechanic helped them out. We will also require references and a work number because who wouldn’t like to have someone pay for their car repair.

We will see what happens, keep the work in your prayers.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 14, 2007 9:48 am

    I will keep that ministry in my prayers that God will open the door for a person who would be will to donate time, parts, money, oil, gas, to fix the cars, and do what needs to be done so people can get to work, keep their jobs, help their famlies. I know how hard it is being poor. I what it is like being on WIC, Medicaide, Food Stamps. I will pray that God will open that do of ministry and that poor will blessed in your community.

  2. November 17, 2007 4:24 pm

    What a wonderful idea! I would like to support you in this concept, does the ministry have a website of it’s own yet?

  3. November 18, 2007 1:18 pm

    Monk-in-Training, thanks for stopping by. We don’t have a site other than our fellowships. We added it to our outwardly focused efforts.

    To add to any who may think about doing this, if mechanics complain about people hitting them up tell them this is a great way to answer. Tell them you already help out at church X so if you have needs you should ask them. It gives them the I gave at the office out.

  4. November 19, 2007 11:44 pm

    Have you had any “takers” on this idea?

  5. November 20, 2007 12:26 am

    From a mechanic standpoint?

    Yes.

  6. November 21, 2007 12:04 am

    How do you manage the mechanic thing, do you arrange it all via your Church office?

  7. November 21, 2007 2:53 am

    Yes, we will arrange it all. We also will do a thorough check on job and family.

    We have already had a situation with a car but the person didn’t have a job and hadn’t had one for a long time and wasn’t making any effort to get a job.

    The individual had family in the area and we offered to help them move back home.

Leave a Reply

