Skip to content

More random thoughts.

November 27, 2007

When he saw the crowds, he had compassion on them, because they were harassed and helpless, like sheep without a shepherd. Then he said to his disciples, “The harvest is plentiful but the workers are few. Ask the Lord of the harvest, therefore, to send out workers into his harvest field.” Matthew 9:36-28

What do you see when you are with the lost? At Thanksgiving I spent time with many different branches of our family tree. One particular branch is filled with… and that is why I write this post, it is filled with sheep without a shepherd.

I wish I could say this is how I always seem them but it wouldn’t be true. I get frustrated at times because they seem indifferent and as I read this passage this past Sunday I realized I had failed miserably. It is not that they are making good choices and it is not that it shouldn’t be frustrating it is that they have no shepherd but the workers are few.

You see I tend to wait for them to get it but guess what, they think the rest of us look down on them. So I have committed to getting out in the fields with my extended family. I used to pray for this group regularly but I have not for years. I am rededicating to prayer and I just finished a letter to my cousin who is in prison because it is past the time.

They are simply people without a shepherd, what am I going to do about it, feel free to ask me periodically. Did you run into the lost at your Thanksgiving feast? What did you think?

I leave you with a song by Leeland that says it all.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

