Skip to content

What are we afraid of?

November 29, 2007

If you have not heard a movie is coming out this holiday season called The Golden Compass. It is based on a trilogy of books written by an atheist whose stated goal is to refute God and give someone something better than C.S. Lewis and the Chronicles of Narnia to read.

Now I don’t want to give them any of my money but I do promise that I will get it when it comes out on DVD to watch and we do plan on watching it with our children. No one has seen the movie so who knows how sinister and evil it may be but here is my point, what are we afraid of? Why do Christians come across as so skittish every time something comes out against God?

I realize our culture is turning more and more anti-Christian, I get that, but these attempts to stand up to culture sound a lot more like retreat to me. Retreat because we are so afraid of the message you have that we are going to pull back further and further into our own little worlds. Why is our faith so flimsy?

I don’t know I’m curious as to what those who read this blog think. If our faith or more importantly, if our children’s faith is so weak shouldn’t we be working on teaching them the deep truth’s of God instead of trying to avoid every message that may counter them?

Really, in the article I read the atheist basically said they saw the story of the fall as positive, never mind that an atheist is commenting on a story they supposedly don’t believe could exist because no God ever walked in a garden. Well guess what that is what Satan did in the beginning and continues to do with any number of items on this earth today. He promises us we are the most important person around that we are the center of everything and we are all that matters. I suppose if you must know he was the original self-esteem promoter.

That is his message. Certainly he doesn’t plan on stopping with the message in a movie. He tries to get it out each day on TV and in school and if we really believe the Bible as someone imitating light.

Why do Christians retreat? Why do they boycott because of children’s faith? I agree we should educate believers as to the motives of the film and I would suggest not supporting it financially out of principle but not because the message will somehow infiltrate my children’s minds. If a movie can do that then I’m not doing my job and even then there is far more out there at cross purposes to truth then this movie. If I’m going to boycott everything that might push self-centeredness on my child what am I to do with their Christmas shopping list?

I’m wondering what you and your family, you and your church are doing with the Golden Compass, anyone?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 3, 2007 2:08 am

    Basically, I see it as a chance to discuss how the Church has misused the Gospel to lord it over people. The Magisterium mentioned in this movie plays the role of the Church, and this is a good starting point to discuss what we thing the Church should or should not do.

    For example, should we write letters and complain when someone says Happy Holidays instead of Merry Christmas, or could we use it as an opportunity to invite someone left out of traditional Christmas joy inside to show and be Christ to them? Just some thoughts. 🙂

    I don’t think boycotts do much but cause resentment, and make people laugh at us.

  2. December 3, 2007 5:46 pm

    With ya.

    Thanks for stopping in.

Leave a Reply

