Skip to content

Waiting

February 12, 2008

What are you waiting for? Waiting for the right president? I think some people are waiting. Waiting for the right Supreme Court justice to come along? Waiting for the right church or the right time or the right idea?

Waiting.

And waiting some more.

Let’s wait even longer.

Waiting.

As I read the book Church on the Move I will share that some of their ideas didn’t get very far. Some ideas that went well in one community didn’t in another and while some saw two hundred come to Christ over a five year period another doing the same things witnessed fifty.

I was going to list some of the things that the churches were doing to reach the lost world but I got to thinking it might just make me wait even longer. It might make me wait until I was at a job that had that type of an environment. It may have pushed me to wait.

It might have led me to mimic what they were doing instead of finding my own way. What if it didn’t work? What would I have done? Waited?

Leadership is the greatest deficit in church today and I’m not talking number of people who want to tell others what to do. That my friend isn’t leadership. No, the leadership we are missing are those willing to take risks for God in full abandonment for the cause.

Maybe though I’ve just got you to think about waiting. Waiting for that right leader, that right person to do something about what is happening around us.

What if we should be saying what are you waiting for?

No more excuses, no more next year, when the kids are older, when my stint teaching this class has ended. No more waiting. No more inviting people to church, invite yourself into their lives for a minute, a day or years. Come along side them and stop waiting for them to come find you.

No more waiting. Chant it with me, no more waiting. Wait a minute, I’ve got to go, see you later…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 13, 2008 2:38 pm

    No more waiting.

    No more waiting.

    No more waiting.

    What a brilliant sentence! “No more inviting people to church; invite yourself into their lives for a minute, a day or years.”

    No more waiting.

  2. February 13, 2008 3:49 pm

    No more waiting!
    No more waiting!
    No more waiting!
    Show Jesus to everyone! Everyday! In Everyway!

Leave a Reply

