Skip to content

Celebrity Rehab part 1

March 10, 2008

Okay, the cat is out of the bag. I watched a lot of Celebrity Rehab. Not every episode but many. I don’t know about you but I was transfixed by what was taking place.

There were several things about the show that struck me. One was the way the staff talked to the celebrity clients. Now I don’t know the guys name with the black glasses but he really hit the clients hard. He shot straight about their problems and what he saw them doing. There was no sugar coating taking place. There was no beating around the bush.

It made me really think about compassion. How do we deal with sin? Do we shoot straight or do we go soft? The staff member is a recovering addict himself and so he seems very leery of their excuses. Do we make excuses for the sinner? Has our focus on sin been so entwined with salvation that we struggle to confront sin because it sounds like we are questioning salvation?

What are your thoughts? During the graduation ceremony the clients comment that the staff was hard but they realize they did it to help them. Do we expect enough not so people can stay saved but so that people can be healed?

Any thoughts? I will say that this has got me thinking about Celebrate Recovery. Is anyone out there familiar with this ministry?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2008 3:13 pm

    Uh-oh… the cat IS out of the bag!

    Christians SIN?

    Okay, enough bitter sarcasm. This is quite an interesting post. For a few years, I carried a personally-modified version of the Twelve Steps and Twelve Rules in my journal.

    I know this doesn’t affect how you do things as much, but the average congregation doesn’t focus on healing. We focus on attendance. It is our responsibility as congregational leadership to get you into the building by any means necessary. Once you are in the building, your spiritual growth – healing – maturation is your responsibility. If you have a problem, respond to the invitation. Otherwise, just tell everyone “I’m fine. I’m great. Couldn’t be better. Can’t complain.” If we actually answered, “How ya doin’?” honestly, we might not fit the worship service into that 55-minute window.

    Healing is such a tiny part of who we are, and such a HUGE part of what we need.

  2. March 10, 2008 4:21 pm

    Nick, good thoughts to chew on. Thanks for the addition.

    I especially like that last sentence. What can we do to change that?

  3. March 10, 2008 4:37 pm

    I watch celebraty rehab and thought is this a joke. Is this really what rehab is like? Then I start seek how they got and groups and addressed the “real problesm” that were causing the adiction. I have taken members of our congregation to AA and be a support to them. I have held them accountable. I have announced when and where AA and NA is in our town and that if you would like to go I will take you support you. I quote Romans 3:23 “For all have sinned and fallen short of the glory of God.” AA and NA is a great way to get off and get real abou what the real problem is and it is a place of acceptance and forgiveness and support. I think it is a wonderful ministry. At least it has been for our church. Tonight I am going to go over to one of our members houses and going to have to get real about her alcohol addiction. Please keep me in your prayers and thank you for this great post brother. I know it is okay to drink but those who take that one drink and become addict and that one pain pill leads to more and more. I reach out to those who need it. Are some of them members of our congregation, like the man I go to with AA, yes. I am going to have get “real” about one of our members problems tonight. Others don’t come but Jesus saw the need first then offered forgivess and salvation. It has been a wonderful ministry to us as a congregation. Again, thanks for bringing this topic to the forefront.
    In Him,
    Kinney Mabry

  4. March 10, 2008 5:15 pm

    I would like to learn more.

    Email any other information that can help.

Leave a Reply

