Skip to content

Still Celebrating

April 8, 2008

I can’t help it. We allowed the kids to stay up if they wanted. Our oldest daughter went to bed so this morning I had to recreate the game winning drive, dish and shot for her. It was great fun as all the kids gathered around.

I will admit at a certain point in the game when a certain team got behind by nine points I prayed. No, not that prayer, the God miraculously zap the entire starting five of Memphis with leprosy and a bad case of laryngitis prayer. No a prayer of thanksgiving that win or lose God has blessed us with emotions that make something as simple as a basketball game matter. That God made us in such a complex way that we can form bonds, love and emotions of disappointment, relief and in the end joy.

Isn’t that great? If Kansas had lost I would have been sad, what a powerful emotion. It didn’t matter if they won or lost in the grand scheme but it was and is a great reminder that we are fearfully and wonderfully made. It mattered to me and I knew I would be bummed out if Kansas lost.

But hey they didn’t, they won and so I was able to run around the living room when Chalmers shot fell. I was able to dance with the kids that were awake and celebrate as they crushed Memphis in overtime.

Thank God for emotions, without them life would be pretty stale.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 11, 2008 5:19 pm

    What a game! What a shot! Rock Chalk Jayhawk!

Leave a Reply

