Skip to content

Diary of a Drive by Blog Commenter

April 18, 2008

A special thanks to John Dobbs on this one.

Have you ever felt like you were being watched? Have you ever had someone ask you a question but when you begin to answer they look away? You realize then that they were not really asking.

I must confess that I have done that and it isn’t good. At times in my life I get put in a position where someone asks or says something to me and I know they weren’t really listening or reading or paying attention and my view of that person changes.

I am forced to look at my own life in those moments. Do I go threw the motions with people? When I say I care do I mean it? Tough questions but I think I understand why it matters.

When you get a drive by blog comment you think hey someone out there cares, someone is listening, and while I blog for myself I would be a liar if I said I didn’t care. It is nice to get some feedback. At times it is essential and God uses the feedback to help me grow or move in a different direction or to just lighten up.

So you get a comment but you find the same one to someone else on another blog from the same blogger. Encouragement ends up being I don’t really care. It ends up being about driving blog traffic to their site, not lifting you up.

All the more reason to feel smacked in the face by a drive by blog comment. So have a great day, I love your comments, they are so inspirational, and could you remind me about what you said again?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Nick Gill permalink
    April 18, 2008 1:53 pm

    I saw “Drive By Blog Commenter” on my social networking site last week, and she is hot! For only $9.99 a month, you can chat with her and all of her hot friends!

    🙂

    love ya, bro…

  2. April 18, 2008 2:27 pm

    I like the ones that just comment to pimp their own blog. They feel the need to put a hyperlink of their blog in the comment, as if no one knows that you can click on their name and to to their blog.

    “great post brother!” (insert hyperlink to me@allaboutmechurch.org)

  3. April 18, 2008 3:08 pm

    Sincerely, I do like your blog although I had not visited for a while. Thanks also for your visit to my unnamed blog and for your comments.

    His peace,
    Royce Ogle

  4. April 18, 2008 3:19 pm

    I totally understand what you are saying Darin.
    I will try not to say great post so much.
    This is a good post. Well I think I might have said that on another blog. Your post is pretty good. Wait. Nice. Yes. Nice. 🙂

  5. Nick Gill permalink
    April 18, 2008 5:12 pm

    LOL Kinney…

    I’m pretty sure you’ve shown yourself innocent of self-promotional tactics!

  6. April 18, 2008 10:54 pm

    Okay, you got me. I don’t always leave an original comment. Sometimes it is just a hearty AMEN. When that is the case, it is because I am surfing on my lunch break or in some other way crunched for time. One thing though; I won’t put an amen on it if I haven’t read the whole post and really agree w/it all.

    But, I won’t comment on blog prayer requests unless I genuinely intend to pray for their need. I will however offer an immediate prayer to the Father on behalf of them.

  7. April 18, 2008 11:28 pm

    I’m a regular reader and a unregular comment maker. But I understand your post. I feel the same with comments!

  8. Jim Sexton permalink
    April 19, 2008 2:32 am

    Well, truth be told it seems a matter of ignorance and apathy.

    Why? I don’t know and I don’t care…

    Who has time to comment on the blog of a failed classroom monitor?!

    Now, put your pencils down and turn your papers over.

    Jimbo

  9. J D permalink
    April 19, 2008 3:35 am

    I’m reading this and cracking up. Maybe only Darin knows why!

  10. April 19, 2008 6:45 pm

    I must admit, sometimes I am a drive by blogger, because I seem to have more blog friends than I do time. Sometimes I don’t really have time to read, but I do want to drop in and say hi.

    Anyways, I do like what you have to say on your blog, and I try to drop by when I have time to get your thoughts on things.

Leave a Reply

