Skip to content

State of the Blog Address

May 9, 2008

First, thanks to everyone who reads the blog or even pretends to read the blog. You are loved and appreciated. As I have said before, I started blogging to have a place to organize my thoughts and a part of me hoped that I could inspire others. Doesn’t everyone blog for themselves while also hoping to inspire others? I know I have been inspired by many of you.

My first blog was called Backtrack Journey. I called it that because at that point I was processing a trip from the edge of church experimentation back to a place that would be considered more normal. We were doing all types of creative things but they were killing us.

A point came where I felt like we had finished backtracking. I knew I was ready to move on. It was such a clear point in my life that I started a new blog, the one you are currently reading.

Well I have come to that point again. A new chapter begins in my thinking. For the past several years the fellowship that I work for has been trying to impact our community in positive Christ-like ways. I had to make a decision recently in my own mind. We get a lot of visitors but they always ask about what we have for them and we can’t compete with the big churches in the area. Not only that I know that we don’t want to. It just isn’t who we are or what we want to be.

I used to think we needed to grow so that we could do more services and offer more help and have more people to do tutoring and home remodeling for widows and…

I have come to a place where I’m not sure more people would get more of that done. I wonder if it would just cause us to focus on them instead of these other areas.

But guess what, there are people at those other churches who want to make a difference in the community. They just really like what their church has and don’t want to give it up. Can you blame them?

Recently I have been helping a volunteer at a local church to get their fellowship more involved in the community. I helped her brainstorm what they could do and gave her direction on where to go and who to talk to. I even steered her away from some areas that are a need but might not be practical. We talk regularly and I encourage what they are doing. They have begun a used furniture ministry for people in need.

Well that just got me to thinking but I need your help. I have a major announcement to make Thursday that will impact my blogging world. It is something that I am excited about because it marks a new chapter in my thinking and a new direction. I need your help though. I am really going to want your thoughts on this new endeavor and feedback. So check back Thursday please and let me know what you think.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 9, 2008 8:56 pm

    Darin,

    Can’t wait to hear what it is.

    Jason

  2. Nick Gill permalink
    May 10, 2008 6:25 am

    For commenting purposes, WordPress or Akismet or somebody doesn’t seem to like my work IP address. I can comment just fine from home, if 28.8 dialup counts as just fine.

    So, there’s another comment in your filter. Sorry.

  3. John Dobbs permalink
    May 10, 2008 3:19 pm

    Darin Hamm has announced an announcement.

    Random: a squirrel just ran by my office window making a screeching noise while a blue jay gave chase.

    If anyone can pique my interest it’s you Darin. As the blog king (which has no benefits by the way) I would hope that in my e-mail inbox would be a preview ahead of everyone else.

    Can’t wait.

  4. May 11, 2008 3:43 pm

    I am looking forward to this announcment. I like your thoughts on Church and where you are going. Sometimes it is more important to help out other congregations than to just get big yourself.

    Instead of more people, try to build the lives of those who are in your church. Numbers come and go but the mission of the church is disciples. Great thoughts.

  5. May 13, 2008 4:38 am

    Darin,
    Thank you so much for the information brother. It is greatly appreciated. I love reading your blog. It is informative, humoreous, encouraging, uplifting, and inspiring.

    I was wondering if you and your readers could stop by my blog and leave a comment for a family who is hurting beyond imagination. Please…You could make a difference. I would greatly appreciated and know that they would as well.

    God bless you this week in the name of Jeuss.
    In Him,
    KinneyMabry
    Aka,
    Preacherman! 🙂

  6. May 13, 2008 3:49 pm

    what a tease!

  7. May 13, 2008 6:15 pm

    I love a good cliffhanger!

  8. May 14, 2008 1:32 pm

    Looking forward to tomorrow. You’re not coming out of the closet are you? Just kidding!

Leave a Reply

