Skip to content

I didn’t make it

May 20, 2008

I didn’t make it through Everything Must Change by Brian McLaren. I tried and I really wanted to but in the end it couldn’t be done. I wish I could have because I know it would help me but in the end I just don’t agree.

This is where I ended my reading. It was page 94 with these words, “the Bible instead is the story of a partnership between God and humanity to save and transform all of human society and avert global self-destruction.”

I don’t see that so much that I felt it pointless to continue. If that was what the book explained I didn’t see how I would benefit. Maybe you have read it and maybe I jumped off to soon.

Well let me know where I went wrong because that one put the book on the shelf. Closed, done, I should have known that anyone who could find a secret message about Jesus 2000 years later that everyone else missed, well, anyway.

I want to like his books so much because I know that not liking them puts me on the outs with a lot of people who I respect and agree with for the most part.

Okay, so all of you who love the book and Brian McLaren show tell me why I should continue because that statement is so wrong I don’t know what else to do.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2008 8:48 pm

    Darin,

    I’ve never read the book. I’m kind of out of the whole religious trend scene. That is probably because my profession isn’t “church”. There is some good and some bad with not being in ministry as a profession. I’m probably missing out on some good reading and I’m also probably not getting sucked into a lot of ministry fads.

    That being said… I think it is healthy to express disagreement, even if it is with people you respect and on topics that go against current ministry trends. We (global, who knows who they really are “we”) tend to mock restrictive religious people because they are following what they’ve always been taught. This mocking often comes when “we” question these restrictive people about their beliefs. “We” say that we are better than they are because we are free, and open minded. But what happens when we say we don’t like or agree with Velvet Elvis, The Irresistible Revolution, Blue Like Jazz or Everything Must Change (I haven’t read any of these books so I have no opinion either way)? Do you then get moved from the “Us” category to the “Them” category because we expressed a dissenting view or opinion?

    Sorry for the rant, but I saw a bit of hesitancy in you expressing that you weren’t on board with a writer/book that is currently popular. I applaud that you were willing to express your opinion. Who knows… I might read the book and love it. Then we’d have something to fight about. (hehehe)

    We need to get coffee the next time I’m in Collinsville.

    JH

  2. May 20, 2008 10:32 pm

    I’m kind of with you Darin. I think he has a lot, A TON to give us. He is a visionary. He saw emergent coming 10 years before any of us knew what it meant. That being said….his theology is troubling. I think his book also brings up some great points though. Much must change, but not everything.

  3. J D permalink
    May 21, 2008 1:50 am

    I hope to meet McClaren at the Lipscomb sermon seminar in October. I haven’t read his books…I have Secret Message and will try to read it before I go.

  4. May 21, 2008 2:19 am

    I read to about the same point and concluded that I had better things to read. I got it after about 50 pages. You can tell where it is headed and I too didn’t feel a need to go on. On the shelf with a bookmark still in it.

  5. May 21, 2008 2:37 pm

    Jason, Maybe we could even get a danish or something.

    JD, I would be interested to hear what he has to say.

    That is funny Matt. Great minds must think alike.

    Tyler, I am with you on that one, I love “Much must change, but not everything.”

  6. May 21, 2008 3:01 pm

    well, I never finished it either. I think I got further…but I don’t remember. The bad thing is they sent me a manuscript of the book. I was supposed to read it and post a review on Amazon before it came out. I figured they didn’t want me saying, I loved some of his books but I can’t trudge through this one.

  7. May 21, 2008 4:43 pm

    So has anyone actually read the book? Interesting.

  8. May 21, 2008 8:00 pm

    Jason, that’s right. Every progressive is someone else’s stick in the mud; every liberal is someone else’s right-wing nut case.

  9. May 21, 2008 8:27 pm

    Is truth sure and steadfast or is it fluid and relative? And is some “progressive” theology only ugly unbelief packaged in an appealing way?

    We Christians seem to be drawn to anything that appears to be “new”. If it’s W.T. Wright’s “new” way of looking a Paul and his teaching on justification or McLaren’s fuzzy emergent theology we are always looking for the next Christian hula hoop. Fads come and go but the truth never changes.

    I have been amazed over the years at all the “new” and improved ways to carry out the great commission. The Roman Road, The 4 Spiritual Laws, Evangelism Explosion, Neighborhood evangelism, Missional living, and on and on and on…. Yet non of them quite as effective as one person telling another the very good news about Christ and His work for sinners. There has been no improvement over the method used in the 1st Century.

    I’ll leave the fads to those of you young enough to endure them.

    His peace,
    Royce Ogle

  10. Nick Gill permalink
    May 22, 2008 8:51 pm

    Christianity was a fad at one time.

    The Protestant Reformation was a fad at one time.

    The Churches of Christ were a fad at one time.

    Truth is sure and steadfast, but the mind of man is fluid and relative.

    There is only one passage in the whole New Testament commending personal evangelism (Acts 8:4). I’m not knocking the concept, but it just isn’t the central method of the NT that people think it is.

    The New Testament points to the future, Darin. I’ve never read anything at all by McLaren, but I understand where he is coming from. Christians have WAY more money and worldly power than they did in the first century. YET Jesus in Luke 4 and Paul in Galatians 3:28 and in Philemon (among other places) already begin planting the seeds of societal change. Did Paul really want to preach to Caesar just to get him wet? Just to make him a church member? Or did he want to change the world?

    Good Works are not just busy work until Jesus beams us up to heaven.

    Salt preserves meat by CHANGING it from the inside. I think that’s the point of the “salt of the earth” part of being salt and light.

    in HIS love,
    nick

  11. May 23, 2008 5:59 pm

    Nick,

    Thanks for your feedback.

    Doesn’t salt work because it keeps harmful bacteria from growing?

    I agree that good works aren’t busy work until Jesus beams us up to heaven but I’m not sure that fact allows us to change the purpose.

    I have no doubt Paul wanted to impact the world but we might disagree on what that was to be and why it should be that way.

    If changing government and world systems was the goal then I suppose they accomplished that when Christianity was made the official religion of the Roman Empire.

Leave a Reply

