Skip to content

Vacation

June 7, 2008

What do you do with vacation? Have you ever heard someone say they needed a vacation from their vacation? We typically take two weeks to go to Montana to see my wife’s parents in June. Unfortunately they are moving to Colorado so we ended up going to Brownsville, Texas with my family.

My wife totally loved it and so did the kids but I missed my trip to Montana to hang out and fish. I find fishing to be a great time to connect with God. I missed that on this vacation. We had the eight nieces and nephews having a blast either in the ocean or the pool.

We spent some time with an old college friend. He told me at one point that it sounded like I already had the answer that I was seeking. I guess he was right.

I have some new opportunities and I am excited about where we are going. We watched Prince Caspian and I was reminded that everything has its time. You can’t force it or make it when you want it to be.

In the end I am convicted more than ever that we must push out as a body as the hands and feet of Jesus Christ. To much inward focus has crippled the salt and light of the church. That is my passion and will be my focus moving forward.

I have some information to share next week that excites me along these lines.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Swedish wolf permalink
    June 7, 2008 7:38 pm

    I’m enjoying the sunset while the kids are asleep and my husband walking the woods looking for wild pigs. Spending time in the Nature is one of the ways I recharge my batteries and I hear you do it when fishing. First I want to acknowledge your honesty – that you truly were disappointed – and that you don’t keep it inside, as this is the first step to a solution.

    You are right,you have the answer. Here I just come up with some questions and suggestions that might get you going in your direction. What do you love doing as much as fishing? Write down a list of all the things you enjoy; even things you have not done for a long time. Make this “My fun life activity list”. On my list I would write “Fishing, dancing, traveling abroad, playing basket ball, scuba diving, reading a good book, drinking cafe latte, playing football with our kids; facilitating Master Mind groups, talking to my like-minded friends etc”. When you go on your vacation, make sure you get to do some of your high priority activities.

    After all … the best vacation is when it meets both parents’ needs. Happy parents makes happy kids.

  2. June 7, 2008 11:41 pm

    Darin,
    I am glad that you had a great vaction.
    It is so important that we take vactions and spend time with our families. Making those memories that last a lifetime is so important. I have learned that over the last year and half.

  3. June 8, 2008 1:40 pm

    Swedish Wolf,

    Thanks for the comments. I did get to do something I really enjoy and going to the beach really helped in that area.

    Preacherman, vacation is important. I bet you have. Thanks for coming by.

  4. June 8, 2008 3:52 pm

    Lol… on the Chris Sligh comment. Maybe it’s cuz he’s fat like I am, and we don’t see too many of those in musical culture… unless they’re of a different race & sing soul music.

  5. June 9, 2008 11:12 pm

    I feel like I need a vacation from my vacation. I’m sure going back to work will help ;-}

    I have been seeing a trend to look more at ourselves then looking at others.

Leave a Reply

