Skip to content

Death Cab and Hooks

June 12, 2008

I was listening to Death Cab for Cutie’s new album Narrow Stairs today and I thought about hooks. Song two I Will Possess Your Heart just really hit me and I was thinking of classic hooks from songs.

Anyway, each year I do a series of messages based on different popular songs. The first year it was from the 80’s. Last year it was Classic Rock and I was thinking this year I would focus on great hooks. So, I need your help, give me your favorite music with great hooks.

What do you have for me? One that comes to mind is Under Pressure by Queen. Just ask Vanilla Ice. What are yours?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 12, 2008 1:14 pm

    How bout Billy Joel’s “Only the Good Die Young”? That’s one of the better hooks out there, and the lyrics set up this “either have a fun life or be religious and good” thing.

  2. June 12, 2008 2:28 pm

    Thanks Frank. That is a good tune.

  3. Troy permalink
    July 13, 2008 6:12 am

    Twist and Shout- Isley Brothers/Beatles
    Hey Jude-Beatles NA NA NA NANANANA
    Many Police Tunes-Roxanne, Every Breath You Take
    Layla-Derrick and the Dominoes
    Reelin In THe Years- Steely Dan
    What a Fool Believes/Takin It To The Streets-Doobies
    Stayin Alive-The Bee Gees
    I Get Around/ God Only Knows/Good Vibrations-The Beach Boys
    Go Your Own Way/Fleetwood Mac
    50 ways To Leave Your Lover-Paul Simon
    Thunderstruck-AC/DC
    Born To Run-Bruce Springsteen
    Everybody Wants to Rule The World/Shout-Tears for Fears
    These are a few I could think of this late.

Leave a Reply

