Skip to content

How much do you look like Jesus?

August 25, 2008

You know as the Pastor of a church I often have people ask me about our fellowship. In our culture we have developed a certain way of measuring church. Often times the questions are the same.

Here is what I was thinking. What if we asked “in what ways does your church look like Jesus?” What if that was the first question on our mind? Would that change the conversation? Would that impact the explanation? Would that change what we discussed? What would your answer be? In what way would you say your church looked like Jesus?

The church is called the body of Christ. He is the head. Now I’m not sure how your head works but if it is anything like mine the impulse comes from the head and moves through the body. In fact I decided in my head that I should type something about this and so here we are.

You know Paul writes in Ephesians 4:15b that the body is to “grow up in every way into him who is the head, into Christ.” Think about that for a minute. He doesn’t ask us to grow into a trend or a model or anything like that. Now maybe the trend or model is being Christ, that is not my point. My point is should that be our first measurement?

No, I think one simple change in our first question would send us in a totally different direction. I think it could help ground the church. I don’t think for a minute that we are the only ones trying to look like Jesus, I just think it would help focus the conversation.

Will many people end up at the same point? Sure, but they will get there in a much more satisfying way with a much better focus.

What do you think?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

