Skip to content

Fortress Defense vs. Journey

September 23, 2008

How do you see the church, as a fortress to defend or a group of people on a journey? How you see this will impact how you see everything spiritually.

I was raised with the fortress mentality. I was taught all of the key defensive passages. I was trained to go to war against any who were outside of the stronghold. It certainly was the expectation but was it accurate?

Should the church be a fortress or people on a journey? I envision the difference between those people who went out on a wagon train versus those who stayed behind at the fort. I think you are looking at two very different mentalities.

The people in the fort are most concerned with safety wouldn’t you say? They are concerned with the known. Those who took a wagon train out of those places where looking for a better place. They were willing to take risks, deal with hardships, put up with less all for the sake of the goal.

Again, what should the church today be? What is your church like? Is it on a journey, willing to take risks or is it primarily concerned with defense and maintenance? Do we worry about decorating the fort or leaving something behind because of the journey? I think your idea about the function of the church will greatly influence what you see. I worry that for to many years the church has seen itself as a fortress for defense. That safety was what was seen as most important, that keeping those inside the fort happy the highest call.

I believer we were called to journey, to a place of risk and danger. Sure at times you must circle the wagons but in the end progress is what is important, getting something done.

Jesus invited all to follow him. He warned that the journey would be hard, foxes have holes and birds have nests but those who follow Jesus have no place to lay his head. In

May the church return to the journey.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2008 2:50 am

    Wonderful words and thoughts.
    I hope and pray all is going well.
    I have been so busy.
    My wife is taking her last semester, found a job, kids starting school. Sorry I have been by here in a while.
    You are always in my thoughts and prayers.
    I pray for you and your ministry regularly.
    I think it is wonderful that we aren’t alone on the journey. It is great to have brothers and sisters in Christ to spur us on towards the goal. You have helped me over the last two years from your blog. God bless you brother for all you do.
    I hope the journey continues to be as exciting as it was in the beginning.

  2. September 24, 2008 3:33 pm

    Thanks Preacherman. I hope you are doing well. I too have not had as much time in the blog world recently. I don’t read as many as I once did.

    Thanks again for your encouragement.

Leave a Reply

