Skip to content

Start Young

October 15, 2008

We need to start young.

Why do we think that catering to every child’s needs, getting them what they want and giving them everything they ask for, will help form deeply devoted followers? How do we see that preparing them to be servants of the Most High God?

What do you do when this idea is presented not just as the norm, but the ideal?

We have such a disconnect between living truth and speaking truth. We will teach kids about Jesus and we will tell them what he taught but we won’t expect them to live it? We tell them at some point in their future they will have to step up but not today?

This is one of my great frustrations because I wonder what we expect. How do we expect someone to die to self when we have spent our time showing them that they shouldn’t because we will give them whatever they want?

What do we do if we have raised them to believe that Christianity has nothing to do with self sacrifice?

I often have people question why we don’t have more activities that cater to kids. Why don’t we have more events and take them more places. I understand the need to build community but how will they learn to give if we teach them to take?

The logic at some point seems to be the more we do for them the more likely they will stay in church upon becoming adults. That doesn’t make any sense and from the results it doesn’t work. I mean what kind of church will it be that they are willing to stay with? The one that dies to self, radically impacting the world?

Should we be surprised when as they grow, they demand a worship experience that fits them and an educational experience tailored to their lifestyle?

In my opinion it just guarantees that those who do stay will have a real bad understanding of church and its purpose.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 15, 2008 5:43 pm

    Darin,
    It is hard being a parent.
    You want to make your kids happy.
    I want them to look back on their childhood and have a great memories.
    Want them to have great memories of me.
    Yes there are times when I buy them what they want. Our children have way more than we had when we were kids. Fun stuff. I like connecting with my sons with what they like and want. My middle son jumped in my lap last night and said, “Dad your my best friend.” Then he gave me a big hug and kiss. It melted my heart. I know I am more than his best friend, I’m his dad. I remeber what my dad told me when we had our first son Ethan. He said, “God has bless you with a beautiful boy and soul to take care of and love. ” A soul. What a responsibility. I want you to know that I rather fail in ministry than to fail with my family. My family is my most important thing in my life. I love my wife and boys more than anything. I have several times over the last 2 years almost lost them. So I cherish every moment I have with them. I try to make every experience great and when I do have to disciple that they know why and that I love them. The boys know that we go to church on Sundays and Wed. nights. The boys know that we don’t yell in the house. We don’t yell or throw things at each other. We told the boys that we are on the same team. We take care of each other when we are at school, and other places. The boys know that it is there responsiblity to stand up for their brothers if someone is bullying them. The boys know that we don’t talk and say certain words in the house. I hope this helps in making them believers of Jesus Christ. I trying my best to do my best. Everyday. Every moment I have in this life. I have even talked to them what I expect if I do die soon. I tell them how much I want them to love Jesus and go to church. Marry a Christian woman. I talk to them about life issues. I have had some dreams recently that my life will be cut short and to do the best I can as a father. So, I am. Thank you Darin for this post. I think it is so very important. God bless you for all you do. Keep up the great work you do with your blog. It is one of favoirites. I hope you have a great day! 🙂

Leave a Reply

