Skip to content

Neil Diamond

October 21, 2008

Well we went to see Neil Diamond Sunday night. We drove down to Oklahoma City and caught his show at the Ford Center. I have always wanted to see him in concert. Well some friends were given tickets to the show here in Tulsa and they didn’t seem as excited as I am, so they gave them to me. Oklahoma City was a great show, it will be interesting to see what it looks like in Tulsa.

A good friend told me I shouldn’t spread this around because my coolness quota will totally crash. He is concerned that my ministry voice will be lost. Maybe this just shows I never had any coolness quota.

.
Any other Neil Diamond fans? I love Neil because it connects to my story. I have fond memories of “Forever in Blue Jeans.” I still remember threading my father’s reel-to-reel player in the basement with the album You Don’t Bring Me Flowers. I would play “The American Popular Song” (another favorite) followed by “Forever in Blue Jeans,” rewind it and play them again. It was 1978 and I was young and innocent and the music spoke to my soul.

So I’m a fan because it connects to my story. How about you? Who do you love because of its place in your story? I think that is pretty important. How does our story connect to others? What can we do to use these shared experiences to connect with others?

I must admit that the crowd was a little older. I was thinking about Coldplay tickets but I have a hard time justifying the price of any ticket. Maybe that would help connect me to others story.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 27, 2008 5:37 pm

    I got to see ND at the Pyramid in Memphis about 1992. It was such a good show. I thought there were lots of older people at the concert THEN. It must be a sea of walkers now (with tennis balls on the tips, of course). Anyway, I completely loved that show and would go again if I had the chance.

    The big wake up call for me was the return of Rush in 2002. I got to go to the concert in Hartford. So many people had either gray hair or none!

  2. MARIA permalink
    July 28, 2009 2:55 pm

    Hola soy de españa, mi marido es un fanatico de sus canciones y a mi tambien me gustan, a mis 45 años me traen recuerdos de mi niñez cuando las escuchaba, tenemos cintas de suyas, si vieniera a españa hacer algun concierto espero que este cerca de castellon para poder ir a verlo.

  3. Karen Smith permalink
    January 17, 2010 9:03 pm

    It doesnt matter how old a person is when getting to have the privilege to attend a ND concert. The number of walkers with tennis balls on them is completely irrellevant! I have been to three of his concerts and walked away with wanting to see and hear more. ND appeals to ALL ages, whether they have no hair or silver hair. ND has always been one of the top entertainers, in my opion. His concerts are really something to see and not have any regrets.

  4. January 18, 2010 6:11 pm

    Thanks Karen.

    I was listening to his greatest hits and my son was riding along. I told him when I was older he would appreciate the music much more.

    To add the tickets in Tulsa were behind the stage and I was very close. The sound wasn’t as good but the experience was better. Got to see everything up close and personal.

  5. jackieblue permalink
    March 15, 2010 4:59 am

    Neil Diamond IS God/ly. well his concerts were the most Religious experiences I ever had. Except for when I got to hug him at the Greek Theatre In Berkeley when I was a teenager. talk about Cloud 9.

    He is the Holiest man alive. as Holy as you can get, IMO. His music touched my Soul Long Ago. don’t get no better than that.

    I LOVE NEIL DIAMOND.

  6. March 16, 2010 3:48 am

    A hug from Neil. What a deal. He has some great music. Thanks for coming by.

  7. May 20, 2011 10:55 pm

    The first time I saw Neil was in 1967 in Brooklyn NY on Flatbush Ave. the place was called Action City and the only song he sang was cherry I saw him 7 years ago in Ft. Worth Tx. He is phenomenal I’d like to see him again but to expensive.

    • May 25, 2011 5:32 pm

      I hear you Harry. I would have loved to have seen him earlier in life. Just didn’t work out.

Leave a Reply

