Skip to content

What would you like?

November 15, 2008

So you want to find out what people want from a church. What would get them back to attending. So you send out a survey to find out exactly what those out of church people need to repopulate the pews in hopes that they hear and receive the good news of Jesus Christ.survey

You get the survey back and this is what you find.

1. If you could have dry cleaning for me at your church that would really do it. I am so busy and it keeps me from church most weekends.

2. A flat screen TV. I really want that flat screen TV, you know the high definition one. It won’t be long, February I think, until to really enjoy television you are going to need HDTV.

3. Does anyone at the church know how to DVR? I want to record Survivor but I haven’t figure that darn thing out yet. If you had a member who could DVR my show I would greatly appreciate it and that would take a lot of stress off of me and allow me to focus on church.

4. A trampoline for my children. We really need more to do in the backyard. Our neighbors have trampolines and their kids love them. Ours spend so much time at their place we take Sunday mornings to catch up. If we had a trampoline they would be at our house and that would free up Sunday mornings.

What do you think? If this happened would your church be up for it? One soul coming to church that wasn’t. What price is one Sunday attendee worth? Better yet one saved soul?

What would your response be to this mythical survey? What has the churches response been in the past? Maybe a different list but a list none the less?

“As they were walking along the road, a man said to him, “I will follow you wherever you go.” Jesus replied, “Foxes have holes and birds of the air have nests, but the Son of Man has no place to lay his head.” He said to another man, “Follow me.” But the man replied, “Lord, first let me go and bury my father.” Jesus said to him, “Let the dead bury their own dead, but you go and proclaim the kingdom of God.” Still another said, “I will follow you, Lord; but first let me go back and say good-by to my family.” Jesus replied, “No one who puts his hand to the plow and looks back is fit for service in the kingdom of God.” Luke 9:57-62

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

