Skip to content

Zoe (dzo-ay’) by John-David

January 16, 2009
tags: ,

How do you know what will happen tomorrow? For your life is like the morning fog. It’s here a little while, then it’s gone.

James 4:14 (New Living Translation)

As a follower of Christ, what goes through your consciousness as you reflect on this verse? Is it one of sorrow? Of regret? A list of what you have not accomplished? But what about joy? Excitement? Anticipation?

This past week, I was reminded once again how compendious our “zoe” here on earth actually is juxtaposed to eternity. But as believers, this should not bring adverse emotions to our heart, but positive ones. Our “zoe” here on earth is good, but there is something far better when it’s over. When I was a teenager, I did not want to accept it. I wanted to live my life first, then go to heaven. Now that I am a father with two children of my own, I find myself thinking similar thoughts: “I want to live until I see my boys grow up.” “I am worried what would happen to my family after I die.”

Have we become too immersed with the things of this world that we have eroded the vision of eternity in our hearts? I pray that is not true.

Father, may we not love the world or the things in the world. Because if anyone loves the world, Your love is not in him or her. For all that is in the world is passing away, but the one who does Your will abides forever.

-Taken from 1 John 2:15-17

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

