Skip to content

Connections

February 6, 2009

Tonight I worked out. I mean really worked out. My wife told me she wanted to meet at the YMCA for a little exercise. I’m thinking we would ride a stationary bike as we watched the news. Not so fast. We ended up in some kind of torturous stations cardio something or other that just about killed me. I can’t move.

So why do I tell you this? Well because the instructor recognized me immediately. We had tutored her children the first year we did Helping Hands.

It was nice running into her, other then the fact that she was trying to kill me.

At the end after I had caught my breath, well enough of it to speak, I asked how the kids were doing. She told me that her son was doing great. You could tell that the tutoring had made a difference. She went on and on about how he was doing. We had worked with her daughter as well and while she said she had improved it was clear that the improvement was not as much.

Wouldn’t it be nice if that happened in all believers lives? That they ran into people who they knew because of their help all over the place? I don’t think it is something we have to only wish for, tonight it was true.

It was a great reminder of why we do what we do. People are helped and God is glorified.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 6, 2009 4:07 am

    I need to work out bad.
    I went to the Dr. again today and have put on some weight.
    I bought an excercise bike that I am planning on riding every day as well as giving up all cokes and junkfood.
    My wife told me I should also be a vegitarian as well but I can’t give up meat. I am a prod member of P.E.T.A. (People Eating Tasty Animals.). Darin,
    I am sorry I haven’t visited in a while.
    I don’t have internet at the house yet because money is tight.
    We just moved and are trying to get the boys settled into school and my wife into her new job.
    We are also trying to get everyone in our family over pink eye.
    So I will do what I can when I can.
    I love your blog brother.
    It has always be a source of strength and encouragement to me.
    It has also challenged me spiritually.
    Keep up the great work you do with your blog! 🙂

  2. February 6, 2009 7:52 pm

    Preacherman, thanks for coming by. Sounds like you are very busy. I hope this move is a blessing to the family. I certainly don’t get around the blog world like I used to. A couple of weeks ago we had an ice storm and I had time to get around. Stopped into yours but didn’t comment.

    Thanks for saying something.

Leave a Reply

