Skip to content

ETERNITY

April 17, 2009

I’m buried in a new book right now titled “Wide Awake” by Erwin Raphael McManus. I came across a passage the other day that challenged my view of eternity.

…I pointed out that the Bible doesn’t say you’re going to get all the answers. In fact, it never says you’re going to know everything about God. It says you’re going to know God. A more likely scenario is you step into eternity, and suddenly all your questions are overwhelmed by new ones. One second in the presence of the Creator of the universe, and you’re going to get a truckload of new questions. Eternity isn’t the place where you get all the answers. Eternity is a place where you get all new questions, a place where you will always be learning. God is infinite. How long does it take to get to know everything about an infinite God? Oh, I’d say, about eternity.
McManus, Erwin Raphael (2008). Wide Awake, pgs. 60-61. Thomas Nelson.

Growing up, I remember hearing preachers proclaim that when we all get to Heaven everything will be made clear; that we will have complete understanding. I assume these men took that from the passage in 1 Corinthians 13:12 (HCSB) where Paul wrote, “For now we see indistinctly, as in a mirror, but then face to face. Now I know in part, but then I will know fully, as I am fully known.” But then I read the passage from McManus, and an overwhelming sense of how immense the God we serve really is came over me. We will never truly “know” everything there is to know about God, even in eternity, because He is infinite. Or will we?

John-David Meissner

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 17, 2009 4:18 pm

    I personally don’t think that we will remember the questions we wanted ask God because His presence will consume our thoughts, and minds. All we will want to do is be with Him and worship Him. I don’t even think he will make clear all things. I don’t think we will care about the questions and issues that we had on earth. I think it goes to the part of Revelation where John says, “He will wipe every tear from our eyes, no more sorrow, pain, or morning. The “old order of things will pass away” (and I believe that includes the questions we have now on earth). Great post brother. Keep up the fantastic job!! I hope you have a wonderful weekend with your family.

  2. April 17, 2009 5:09 pm

    I tend to think of it as a place where you realize how silly your questions were in the big picture.

    I also think it shows our idea of knowing. I know my wife but I certainly don’t get or understand or even know everything about her. She often throws me for a loop.

    Great post J-D. Always enjoy your thoughts on our blog.

Leave a Reply

