Skip to content

Renny Gleeson: Busted! The sneaky moves of antisocial smartphone users

April 21, 2009

*Please note that this is not a Christian event.

How do you think this “culture of availability” impacts the church? The way we see and build community? Does the church need to embrace this or does it need to defend against this?

I wonder if at times the church doesn’t chase culture to much. I worry that the church looks for wisdom form the world and how we can incorporate that wisdom instead of recognizing we have wisdom that is superior?

Where is the wise man? Where is the scholar? Where is the philosopher of this age? Has not God made foolish the wisdom of the world? For since in the wisdom of God the world through its wisdom did not know him, God was pleased through the foolishness of what was preached to save those who believe. Jews demand miraculous signs and Greeks look for wisdom, but we preach Christ crucified: a stumbling block to Jews and foolishness to Gentiles, but to those whom God has called, both Jews and Greeks, Christ the power of God and the wisdom of God. For the foolishness of God is wiser than man’s wisdom, and the weakness of God is stronger than man’s strength. 1 Corinthians 1:22-25

Thoughts?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 22, 2009 5:45 pm

    I especially like the comment about how people send the message that “You are not as important to me as anything I can get on this device.” (or something like that). I’ve been to lunch with folks who spent more time on their cell phone than they did talking to me. My phone is on vibrate a lot and when I’m busy with someone live and in person, I don’t always answer. Technology allows us to be where we’re not as opposed to where we are. And to think we must always be available seriously overestimates our own self-importance.

  2. April 22, 2009 8:49 pm

    Great thoughts. I have been attacked by people because I wouldn’t take their call in a meeting. “Why didn’t you answer”, “I was in a meeting.” with a look that says “So?” and then the response, “I really needed to talk to you.”

    As you said, the person sitting across from me probably thinks they need to talk to me as well.

    I wonder how this will impact the church. I have not seen people texting during my message but maybe I should just pay more attention.

    Thanks for the thoughts.

Leave a Reply

