Skip to content

Feelings

May 11, 2009

Feelings are a dangerous thing. It seems to me that many people today are ruled by their feelings. They do what they feel like doing and I believe this is a recipe for disaster. We should be guided by responsibility, commitment and obedience.

Years ago I often didn’t feel like going to church, especially Wednesday nights. I was working for a marketing firm that often required me to stay late. There were many Wednesdays when I had to leave the office to attend the Bible study only to return later to finish up my work.

I didn’t feel like going. In fact I felt like staying but because I had a sense of responsibility to my church I left work anyway. I just don’t think we realize how much damage we cause because we are guided by feelings. I don’t think we understand just how much we miss out on because we don’t want to live responsibly.

I remember often times going just because I had to only to find after attending that I was refreshed and ready to return to work. I became more productive and the work was better. The reality was that because I acted responsibly my feelings followed.

I can’t tell you the number of times that I was able to connect with a kid or someone else that helped remind me of what is most important. I understand there is no law that says you must go each Wednesday but to be honest that is the type of attitude that is killing the church today.

Jesus said, “If you love me, you will obey what I command.” He didn’t say if you love me you will feel like doing what I say. No, I think we are missing a healthy dose of commitment and responsibility today in the church. We don’t feel like doing certain things so we don’t instead of seeking to act responsibly.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

