Skip to content

So Beautiful by Leonard Sweet

July 7, 2009

I just started reading So Beautiful by Leonard Sweet. Sweet is certainly a futurist when it comes to church. He wants to put a challenge out there hoping that we believers are listening.

Maybe it is a good time to be reading this book. The pressure that I experience in Oklahoma to conform to the way things have always been done is great. What I have to realize is it doesn’t really matter. What I have actually discovered is to much trying not to be something just means you spend a lot of time trying not to be something. I know, really deep thoughts here.

What I mean is the book has reminded me that I have spent to much time trying to be different then what came before instead of trying to be like Christ. I have spent to much time wanting something different instead of spending my time focused on Christ. Now I believe that if you focus on Christ things will be different but my mistake was thinking making things different would make people focus on Christ. It just means things will be different and without Christ that just seems confusing and wrong.

I know, what a goober.

“I resolved to know nothing while I was with you except Jesus Christ and him crucified” 1 Corinthians 2:2

Focus on Jesus, his actions, his attitude, his heart and everything else will fall into place. Hey, I also understand that the church in Corinth didn’t just turn around because of these words. I get that, but that doesn’t change the message does it? Less trying to be different and more of Jesus, how can you go wrong with that?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

