Skip to content

‘Tis The Season

November 30, 2009

To love like Jesus, or at lest that is what we seem to like to think. It is the month of the year that some would say we take that entire love your neighbor thing seriously. Everyone wants to give something to someone.

I love the fact that people want to help others but why does this love only come out in December? Why does this love only seem to show up with a bunch of stuff? Do we feel the same desire to give to others in July or March? Would we be as happy if we were giving to help with an electric bill?

I personally find it fascinating that so many people have such warm thoughts towards others around Christmas. I’m glad and the church would say it is because of Jesus but have we stopped to think about how this love for Jesus plays out?

Christians get together and purchase a bunch of stuff for people so that they have something for Christmas.Is having a toy really that important?

Our family got out of this several years ago because we were being asked to spend more on the children then we spent on our own. I couldn’t justify trying to teach my kids that stuff doesn’t matter and we store our treasure in heaven while helping someone I didn’t know store up some on earth.

There is this irony that the church that says Jesus is all I need celebrates his birth by making sure people believe having a present under the tree is what they really need.

My mother worked with a disabled woman for several years who was totally overwhelmed with food during the holidays. The only problem is she didn’t have room for most of it and much of the food went bad before she ever got to it. Her fridge was full in December and empty for the other eleven months. All the groups swept in and felt good about what they did when they didn’t do much at all.

Our family assisted the woman the other months of the year. I think that was great, I just don’t get why people don’t stop and think about doing it a better way.

I received a call at the church today about a Christmas Mission here in Owasso. They assumed because of all that our church does that this must have been something we were doing. I let her know who I thought was actually involved and explained that because of all that we do throughout the year we typically allowed everyone else to cover Christmas.

Oh well, I know I’m a bit of a scrooge on this. I know, too practical. I think help should actually help. Here is the deal. Love has no season and true love teaches something more than consumption and the false belief that stuff saves.

There is irony when a season built around a king who says less is more becomes all about more becoming less.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 30, 2009 11:46 pm

    “Our family got out of this several years ago because we were being asked to spend more on the children then we spent on our own. ”

    I agree. We were seeing the same thing at our congregation a few years ago. I couldn’t make sense of how we were giving (mostly) the same families hundreds and hundreds of dollars worth of toys, video game systems, bicycles, etc., while not paying the preacher enough to allow him to do the same things for his kids. Not, of course, that he SHOULD be doing that but still…

  2. December 1, 2009 6:11 pm

    Michael,

    Thanks for the comment. I hear you very well. Christmas seems to bring out some strange behaviors that no one stops to question. I hope your preacher is better taken care of today.

    Thanks again for coming by.

  3. J D permalink
    December 11, 2009 4:25 am

    Very thoughtful. Thanks for sharing that.

  4. December 11, 2009 2:43 pm

    Thanks for stopping in John. Looking forward to seeing you at the Workshop.

Leave a Reply

