Skip to content

The Daniel Fast

January 12, 2010

We have started what some call a Daniel fast on Sunday. The idea comes from Daniel 1:8-16 when Daniel eats only vegetables and later in Daniel 10:2, 3 when Daniel eats no delicacies, meat or wine for three weeks.

It has been a long time since I took time to fast and yet fasting has always been an integral part of worship and God’s people.

In the church at Antioch there were prophets and teachers: Barnabas, Simeon called Niger, Lucius of Cyrene, Manaen (who had been brought up with Herod the tetrarch) and Saul. While they were worshiping the Lord and fasting, the Holy Spirit said, “Set apart for me Barnabas and Saul for the work to which I have called them.” So after they had fasted and prayed, they placed their hands on them and sent them off. Acts 13:1-3

They preached the good news in that city and won a large number of disciples. Then they returned to Lystra, Iconium and Antioch, strengthening the disciples and encouraging them to remain true to the faith. “We must go through many hardships to enter the kingdom of God,” they said. Paul and Barnabas appointed elders for them in each church and, with prayer and fasting, committed them to the Lord, in whom they had put their trust. Acts 14:21-23

Here we have Paul and the believers worshiping the Lord and fasting. It is not just some one time thing. In chapter 13 it sounds like the pattern they used when seeking God’s council. It sounds like what you do when you have major decisions to make and yet I haven’t really fasted in a committed way since before I was married. Now maybe I can claim that my wife is such a good cook, how in their right mind would fast, but still, for over 15 years.

Have I made some major decisions in the past 15 years? The text says that they went from town to town fasting and praying as they searched for men to serve as elders. How many churches do the same today?

I hope you are better than me. I hope your church is wiser. Keep me in your prayers as I spend 21 days fasting like Daniel. Pray that I won’t give in, I so want a candy bar right now. Pray that I will seek God’s face.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 12, 2010 9:29 pm

    Darin, you can do it!

    • January 12, 2010 10:31 pm

      Thanks because I made the mistake of going over to Trey Morgan’s blog. I have to get that burger out of my mind.

  2. January 13, 2010 2:20 pm

    I think we need to restore the practice of corporate fasting. I’m not really sure how it slipped out of modern church practice, unless it’s pure materialism that led us away from it.

    Grace and peace,
    Tim Archer

  3. January 13, 2010 4:52 pm

    Thanks Tim for the comments. Maybe we simply have not focused on it, kind of like the widows, poor and orphans. It is in there, we were just consumed with other things.

  4. February 1, 2010 4:32 am

    How’s the fast going in the last days? You may have written about it again…just making my way through the backlogged reader. Would like more details about the fast. I’ll be reading and catching up.

Leave a Reply

