Skip to content

SGtoDC: It’s Time

April 29, 2010


All good things must come to an end. Well, all bad things as well as mediocre things must come to an end too, I think you get what I’m trying to say. Whether you think this was good bad or are indifferent this is the final post of the series.

I think I’ve done all of the damage I can do. I began on February 8 talking about the movie The Princess Bride.

I write for myself. It helps me. If someone chooses to read it, well that is great, but I started the blog to help me organize my thoughts and that is the only reason I continue. I wrote this because it is my firm conviction that in the church today gimmicks rule. Quick fixes and easy answers make those struggling to do the hard work believe they are failing when they are actually succeeding. That bothers me.

The stories we tend to share are the little 15 person church that grew to 1500 within two years. We want to get what they have. Writing a series about being un-attractional and the fact that you can try to copy those churches until you die and you may never see similar results isn’t exactly what people are looking for.

I want to finish with the story of Gideon. Gideon in Judges 6. An angel appears to him and says that God is with them. Gideon thinks no way, have you looked around lately. Israel is in ruins and is being oppressed by the Midianites and others. Gideon doesn’t see God’s presence at all. I don’t see much difference in us today. Your church didn’t grow to 1,000 so God must not be with you.

The angel tells Gideon to get going, that he has what it takes and God is with him. Notice when you read the Bible that Gideon says I am one of the weakest. God again says you have me with you, we will get what I call you to do done.

You know the story. Gideon wants signs and God gives them. God doesn’t give Gideon more men to for the task, God gives him fewer. In the end it was God who won the victory just as he promised. The church needs more Gideon’s today. Did he have doubt? Sure, but he stayed faithful to his calling and God got it done.

You see instead of worrying about how attractive we are we should really be wondering if we are being faithful. Instead of trying to copy the latest fad we should ask God to show us a sign. Get us where we need to be doing what we need to do. No, you may never be invited to speak at a conference. No one may want to copy your church, and guess what, that is how it should be. They should be asking God to show them their own journey. They should be going with who they need to where God wants them to go.

God is faithful, do you believe?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

