Skip to content

The Lord’s Supper

July 7, 2010

Have you ever had someone say that having the Lord’s Supper each week cheapens the experience? Had someone tell you it leads to people taking the great gift it celebrates, the deliverance we receive threw Jesus Christ, for granted?

I have. I have had people tell me all of this and much more. To these concerns I would say it isn’t the Lord Supper’s fault. It isn’t even the frequencies fault. It is ours. If we allow the Lord’s Supper to become cheap or trivial we have no one to blame but ourselves.

With that said I have allowed it to be cheap in my life. I also think at times the church has done things to cheapen it. Taking your offering on the end, I don’t think that helped. Having people give uninspired and maybe poorly prepared meditations has certainly hurt. Worrying more about who is passing plates instead of what the contents remind us of has certainly done no good.

Still, none of that is a problem with taking the Lord’s Supper each Sunday. We unashamedly take it each week. It guarantees that each Sunday we will focus the church on what this is all about. Jesus Christ. It makes sure that we always deal with the Gospel of Jesus Christ. You can not have the Lord’s Supper without having the gospel.

No, this Sunday I pray we don’t allow anything cheapen the Lord’s Supper. How about you?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 17, 2010 9:11 pm

    I think our spiritual orientation tends to cheapen it, whether we take it every week or once a month. If I’ve been in the Word, praying, visiting, encouraging others, etc., I am much more attuned to the spirit of the Supper. If I’m not engaged in these spiritual disciplines and ministries, then it doesn’t matter how frequently or infrequently I take it, I won’t be in a proper spirit for it.

    Good post. Raised some good issues. wb

  2. July 19, 2010 7:19 pm

    Warren Baldwin, an honor to have you on my blog. Hope all is well. I will try to get in touch.

Leave a Reply

