Skip to content

Baptism

July 19, 2010

Recently I had the opportunity to share what our church does to impact our community at the Conroe Church of Christ in Conroe, Texas. It was a great experience and I am thankful for the opportunity.

One thing I found interesting was a discussion about baptism that came from the experience. You see I shared one particular story about a first grade girl who came to our church for tutoring. At the time they had no church home and were far from God but now they are an active part of our fellowship. Them coming led to friends of theirs coming which resulted in a baptism into Christ. A long way to go to make a point I know, the point being that since we are no longer “officially” a Church of Christ, why the emphasis on baptism.

I will never understand this. This one goes both ways. Some are surprised we still value Baptism or even consider it essential, while others can’t understand why we still value baptism and keep a healthy focus on it.

It is as if everything must change. The “of Christ” didn’t come off of our name because we some how changed theology, it came off as a way to reach more people. Conversely since we don’t look as much like an a capella church of Christ, instruments tend to do that, people think we must have an entirely new way of introducing people to Christ.

Neither could be any further from the truth. Just like the Lord’s Supper. What I have found is that when you share Jesus with people baptism is never an issue. The woman we immersed never once questioned its importance or even how it was being done. She asked what must I do to be saved and we followed a very good example, Peter, to respond.

I will be honest I was raised thinking people were going to have a big issue with baptism so you better get all of your ducks in a row and make sure you know your key verses. The expectation seemed to be it is going to be hard to convince them so prepare for a fight. It has been anything but in my experience. People have no issue, they just want to know when they can get it done.

The other part of this is I have never been comfortable with any invitation that does not sound like the answer given in the New Testament. What must I do to be saved and in the end no one seems to have a problem with that when it is removed from some legalistic construct.

So I guess what I am saying is that just like the Lord’s Supper, if we focus on what is right about it why should we worry about anything else?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Dustin Gist permalink
    July 20, 2010 3:53 am

    Great post. I must say I was a bit nervous in the beginning. I know when I have studies I never once mention baptism. When you show people the life and ministry of Jesus, most respond with baptism. I think we do more injustice if we teach baptism and not Jesus.

Leave a Reply

