Skip to content

Holy Spirit

July 28, 2010

In my tradition one of the more misunderstood part of the God head. I was raised in the wing of my tradition that didn’t believe that the Holy Spirit lived in anyone. At least I can say I don’t hear or see much of that anymore.

Why were we so afraid? I understand a fear of getting in wrong but you have to jump threw several hoops to land at the place where the Spirit is a book and nothing more.

We cheated ourselves from a very important part of the God equation. I think part of the problem has always been that looks too much like this group or that group. So we deny what the Bible plainly teaches because someone might accuse us of being “Pentecostal?”

Instead of, “Speak where the Bible speaks,” it should have been, “We stay quiet when what the Bible says makes us sound like some other group.”

Life can be pretty overwhelming. I’m not sure where I would be without the Holy Spirit working on my behalf. How many choices have I made at the Spirit’s prompting. The very confidence I received when I rededicated my life to Christ which didn’t come from any strength I had, I had tried to stop sinning on my own many times, but from the Holy Spirit living within.

I can look back at my life and see the Spirit working, the times I was prompted to go somewhere or speak to someone.

I wonder if it comes from the analytical way my heritage looked at everything. It had to be rational. In my past even when people agreed the Spirit lived inside the believer it seemed like an academic exercise. When we studied the Spirit it seemed more about facts than appreciating what God was doing and giving to us.

I am truly blessed to be at a place that believes in the power of the Holy Spirit. I don’t know how you could read Romans 8 any other way.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 5, 2010 1:10 pm

    “I understand a fear of getting in wrong but you have to jump threw several hoops to land at the place where the Spirit is a book and nothing more.” You’re absolutely right.

Leave a Reply

