Skip to content

Pharisee & Me: Less Fortunate

August 19, 2010

I think they really take it on the chin. I do. I think that when we become pharisees they are the ones who pay the price. Those who are less fortunate. Why? Well because the focus on self and stuff mean that those who don’t have don’t have because of how they behave. Because of their lifestyle choices.

To some who were confident of their own righteousness and looked down on everybody else, Jesus told this parable: “Two men went up to the temple to pray, one a Pharisee and the other a tax collector. The Pharisee stood up and prayed about[a] himself: ‘God, I thank you that I am not like other men—robbers, evildoers, adulterers—or even like this tax collector. I fast twice a week and give a tenth of all I get.’

“But the tax collector stood at a distance. He would not even look up to heaven, but beat his breast and said, ‘God, have mercy on me, a sinner.’

“I tell you that this man, rather than the other, went home justified before God. For everyone who exalts himself will be humbled, and he who humbles himself will be exalted.” Luke 18:9-14

You see when you are confident in your own salvation then people who are not as with it as you must deserve what they get or receive. Sound familiar? Come on, the pharisee in me knows exactly what I mean. “God, have mercy on me, a sinner.”

No, Jesus challenged those following him to resist the pull of the pharisee. The desire to say look how holy I am. Look how well I keep God’s commands. It is hard to help people in need when you only focus on yourself and how well you behave. I have heard, at times from my own mouth, the question of whether they deserve the help we extend.

May I not be a pharisee.
May I be thankful for the mercy that we all need. May I help others because without Jesus we are all pitiful and lost, sheep without shepherds.

God bless.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Bill permalink
    January 9, 2014 3:25 am

    I’m afraid all of us have some Pharisee in us. Some more than others. I talk the talk much more than I walk the walk. Lord, please help me be a little more like you.

Leave a Reply

