Skip to content

Verses that Inspire: John 21:18

September 14, 2010

“Truly, truly, I say to you, when you were young, you used to dress yourself and walk wherever you wanted, but when you are old, you will stretch out your hands, and another will dress you and carry you where you do not want to go.” John 21:18

Peter this is how you are going to die. Great Jesus, you really made my day. Can’t you give me some time to soak in the honor of being called a leader? Come on. I’ve just been forgiven and you know how that was weighing on me. Now you have to tell me I will be led to my death?

One of my all time favorite passages because it is a good reminder. Our culture tells us that if God is on your side everything will go great. You will skip and sing kumbaya. God is often challenged because of this and yet here is Peter in the same conversation called to lead and told that this will lead to his death.

“Do, you love me?” Jesus asked three times and Peter responds emphatically. Jesus wants Peter to feed his sheep but He didn’t say anything about how that would go. It is going to be hard because some times sheep don’t want to hear and at other times they want to cling to old customs.

It is a reminder for me that all that matters is the call. I mean, Peter is called a leader and oh, by the way, you will be led to your death. No passing in your sleep. You are going the same way I went.

How about you? If God called you to lead in a church but that it would be hard would you go? If he called you to a mission field and told you it would mean your death would you think you were really hearing from God? Do you love Him that much?

Jesus ends by telling Peter to follow him, how about you?

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 15, 2010 12:47 am

    I hope I love him that much. Hard to tell until we are really tested. Mmm, maybe that is the point of the Abraham/Isaac story. I know I have felt tremendous stress in ministry a couple of times. I’m thankful I’m still here and didn’t bail. But facing death? I pray the Lord will give me the strength. Good post.

Leave a Reply

