Skip to content

Verses that Inspire: Revelation 3:16

September 21, 2010

So, because you are lukewarm, and neither hot nor cold, I will spit you out of my mouth. Revelation 3:16

No one died, well not yet. We could discuss whether or not we think the people being spit out are lost or found, I’m not sure, but I don’t think you can spin being spit out by God as a good thing. I listened to Reg Cox online at ACU today and some of his thoughts follow along with mine.

Well, okay, I’m really just name dropping but Mr. Cox did an excellent job mixing his personal story with 1 Peter 3:13-18. See, that allows me to put ACU and Reg Cox in my tags.

Back to the inspiring verse. You may have heard as I have that when John uses the word that is translated spit it is probably more accurately portrayed as throwing up or vomiting out.

The picture that the verse paints reminds me of some of my coffee experiences around the office. I use paper coffee cups to drink from. I tend to leave the cups of coffee around my office. At times I forget them. If I am not careful I will grab yesterdays cup thinking it is from today. Taking a big hit of that believing it is hot when it has been sitting for a day is just nasty. Makes you want to spit it out. Certainly doesn’t make you want to drink more.

Why does the verse inspire me? Because I have a goal. I don’t want to settle for lukewarm. I don’t want to settle in my personal life or my professional life. I don’t want this for my family and I certainly don’t want it for our local fellowship. This is the reminder to call people to self-sacrifice. To expect more than just showing up. Not because I need something done, no, because our God can’t figure out people who see what He has done and stand in the middle, not really in or out.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 23, 2010 1:42 pm

    I thought Reg did a great job, though a friend pointed out a glaring omission in both his talk and that by Josh Graves. Their examples of suffering are NOT what Peter was talking about in his letter. He was talking about suffering for the cause of Christ; these brothers shared stories of personal suffering through the death of a family member.

    Seems like it would have helped had they pointed out the contrast. Still, their messages were powerful and hopefully helpful to many.

    Grace and peace,
    Tim Archer

  2. September 23, 2010 8:19 pm

    Good point. I must confess that I had not thought of that. I wish I would have made more of the streamed messages. That was the only one I ended up watching.

Leave a Reply

