Skip to content

Let’s Get Practical

April 26, 2011

My first car was a Chevy Chevette. It was a little brown four-door beast that I purchased to drive to college. I was able to get the car at a good price. The insurance was low and it got great gas mileage.

It was a practical choice. Nothing fancy. It certainly wasn’t going to be a car that turned heads driving around campus. Up until I had a bed I could fit everything I owned in my Chevette.

I continue to carry a very practical streak into everything I do. I bring this up because at times it seems like Christians are more interested in theories and ideas and what is wrong with Christianity instead of just being practical and doing what needs to be done.

It seems to me that we get wrapped up into trying to get everyone to agree 100% on some idea that we have and unless we have full agreement, well we just can’t move forward.

Am I wrong on this? Think what would have happened to Jesus ministry if he waited for everyone to get on board. Up until the very end those following him are confused. The religious leaders of the time are plotting his death and the Romans just needed any type of uprising to step in.

All this was happening and yet Jesus was able to prepare for His coming kingdom. He didn’t need everyone on the same page. He just needed people willing to follow Him. People willing to take up their cross. Jesus didn’t ask them to get everyone else to take up their cross too. In fact Jesus told his people that if people won’t receive you at some point you will have to move on.

I’m practical. If all who are dissatisfied with the state of the church would begin to be what they believe the kingdom is wouldn’t that be a good starting point? How about inviting like minded people to join you no matter the number? Why not plan out what you can do to be the hands and feet of Jesus instead of waiting for approval or getting certain people to agree? We would be better off if we stopped wishing that our church would do this or that and instead started doing what we feel called to do.

We would be better off if we would stop looking for the perfect church and once we find it then we will do what we are called to do. This might eventually lead to a new church or people at your current fellowship may catch the excitement and jump on board. That could happen but should it matter if we are doing what God called us to do?

What if I just invited people to join and didn’t’ worry about all of the rest? Am I being too practical?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 26, 2011 8:03 pm

    Excellent thoughts. It did make me want a Chevette, though.

  2. April 27, 2011 3:24 pm

    I sold mine to a high school kid I went to church with. He was hit not long after and the car was totaled. They ended up getting more from the insurance then they paid me. He used the money for school I think.

    Anyway. Thanks for coming by and commenting, means a lot.

Leave a Reply

