Skip to content

Old Movies

June 26, 2012

Recently I have found myself watching Turner Classic Movies, or TCM, a lot. Classic movies. I know, I’m getting old. In mhy defense I do have to make myself watch the movies. At times they are cheesy and corny with a lot of singing. Last night I stumbled onto the movie Shipmates Forever starring Dick Powell and Ruby Keeler. I have no idea what else they have been in. After watching part of the movie I decided we should probably make all of our children watch old movies to get an idea of a different time.

You see the movie centers around a young man who is in the Naval Academy only to prove a point to his father. He has no plans of remaining in the Navy after graduation and doesn’t even like the idea. He keeps his distance from those around him and makes no friends. He is all about himself. I could tell from the beginning what the movie was building towards, a place where the man changes his mind. I’m not going to ruin the ending for you, I’m sure you are going to head to Red Box in hopes that they have this movie.

I bring it up because for me I saw such a difference between what this movie presents as noble and honorable and what we so often see in our movies today. This movie was based on the idea that service to something greater than yourself is far better than service to self. It focused on the bonds built when you are working for the same cause. It presented the nobility of self-sacrifice in all of its pain and hardship.

I thought about our movies and shows today and what they present. How our cultural has changed. Then I thought I should probably have my kids sit down and watch a marathon of old movies. It might do them some good.

“Already you have all you want! Already you have become rich! Without us you have become kings! And would that you did reign, so that we might share the rule with you! For I think that God has exhibited us apostles as last of all, like men sentenced to death, because we have become a spectacle to the world, to angels, and to men. We are fools for Christ’s sake, but you are wise in Christ. We are weak, but you are strong. You are held in honor, but we in disrepute. To the present hour we hunger and thirst, we are poorly dressed and buffeted and homeless, and we labor, working with our own hands. When reviled, we bless; when persecuted, we endure; when slandered, we entreat. We have become, and are still, like the scum of the world, the refuse of all things.” 1 Corinthians 4:8-13

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

