Skip to content

Legalism and Grace

July 16, 2012

How much and how long?

As one raised in such a way that he came to believe you had to earn your salvation how long do you operate with that paradigm in mind? How long do you fight against it? How long do you let it have its hold?

When I came to Christ it was because for the first time I listened as the Holy Spirit revealed that my salvation was not dependent on me in any way. That Jesus came for the purpose of saving me from myself not to judge me. That God didn’t want to judge anyone but to be their father and to love them like no other.

Do you ever get past that? I don’t know. I am past legalism, that is not what I mean. Grace is such a part of what empowers me to live but I don’t obsess over it. I believe it. I wouldn’t be who I am without it. I need it. Is the fact that I don’t obsess over it bad? Is it some how linked to the legaism I experienced?

I don’t know. On the flip side I have ran into some who claim grace and the need for Jesus while living a double life. Does that have an impact too? Does it make me suseptable to a different kind of legalism? Maybe a grace directed coldness?

I don’t know but I want to know. Pray that I will listen as God shows me the way.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

