Skip to content

Thinking About: Focus

January 4, 2013

baptismWe are preparing for a baptism Sunday. After studying the Bible, my new friend Greg* decided he wanted to put on Christ in baptism. How did I meet Greg? He came into our building on a Sunday night. You know one of those Sunday nights that are pointless that should be done away with?

Greg has been to many churches in his lifetime. Why did he stick around? He said it was because he found people who cared about him.

What did we focus in on our conversations? Did we focus on his need for baptism? We focused on his need for Jesus. That always leads to a disucssion on baptism. We could have spent our time discussing various beliefs on baptism. We could have talked about what other groups teach. We didn’t focus on anything but Jesus. Nothing but the love God has for him.

Why do I bring it up today? Because of focus. I have heard countless people bemoan the current state of Churches of Christ in America. On one side people point the need to stick to truth, do Bible things Bible ways. On the other side I have ran into a lot of good, Christ-centered people who are trying to correct the wrongs of the past. Their focus seems to be on getting everyone to agree with a better more Biblical way.

I don’t disagree that correction is needed. I just don’t think it is the best focus. A focus that spends its time trying to correct wrongs. I have ran into churches consumed with this corrective identity. They seem forever caught in a back and forth between Church of Christ past and a desired future.

I don’t care. I wish they didn’t either. Not that we shouldn’t be teaching a Jesus-centered message. No, I wish we would stop trying to correct everyones thinking on that fact. I can teach about Jesus without the need to correct the past. I have seen Churches of Christ consumed with corrective. As a follower of Jesus I would never teach legalism and a set of false man-created rules but I would also never spend my time trying to convince every Church of Christ member that the way Churches of Christ looked at the Bible was wrong.

We should stop. You see my friend Greg doesn’t care about past problems in Churches of Christ. Legalism. Instruments or none. You know what else? He doesn’t need to know any of the arguments one way or the other. Our community doesn’t need to know. They need Jesus. People need to know they are loved and that as followers of Jesus we care. I can do all of that without spending one moment trying to correct the past and without indoctrinating people to a false belief.

Our church is growing. People from various backgrounds are coming together. We are trying to love people like Jesus. That sounds to me like a good focus.

God bless.

*Name has been changed for privacy.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 14, 2013 5:14 pm

    Good perspective and one I’ve been working to adopt over the last few years. I don’t know amymore if I’m conservative or progressive and I really don’t care. Jesus is what it’s all about. I have no axe to grind. Love the sarcasm regarding those “pointless” Sunday nights.

  2. January 14, 2013 6:54 pm

    Wade thanks for dropping in and commenting. Hope all is well. Planning on traveling down for The Tulsa Workshop?

Leave a Reply

