Skip to content

Time to Change the Light Bulb

May 8, 2013

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAHow Many Ministers Does it Take to change a light bulb? Well around our building it is one. Because we only have one. Recently I had the honor of changing some light bulbs in our building. Our cleaning lady mentioned a couple were out and then I noticed a few more. It didn’t take long. A went to the local Ace Hardware and charged them on our church account. I came back to the bulidng and our wonderful cleaning lady Patti helped as I replaced those that were out.

It is one of the joys of working in a smaller community with a smaller fellowship. I get to wear a lot of hats. This week the hat happened to be light bulb changer. I have met people who are bothered by this. Some people point to Acts 6:1-4 and say that ministers shouldn’t be involved in anything that isn’t sharing the good news of Jesus Christ.

I hope you don’t mind that I have a hard time placing what I do with what the aposltes were doing in Acts 6. The Jesus movement is just underway. The promised Messiah has been revealed and people need to know. For me a much different situation than what I do. If you want to compare your ministry to that of Peter and the rest be my guest, I just don’t think we are comparing apples to apples.

No, when I have to change light bulbs I consider it a blessing. It allows me to live in a smaller community where I can help the Chamber of Commerce with Deltarado Days. Where I can go to the schools and serve lunch. Where I am welcomed into the Middle School for Donuts with Dan. It is a trade I am willing to make.

I also find it interesting that in bigger churches the light bulbs often don’t get changed because they have more people but instead because they have more money to hire someone to change light bulbs. In the end the big and small church aren’t that different, neither have members who want to change light bulbs.

So when I change the light bulb I remember to celebrate what that means.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

