Skip to content

Middle Class…

January 8, 2014

SAMSUNG DIGIMAX D530

The breakfasts with those from the Abraham Connection Shelter often get me thinking. Thinking about belief, faith, Jesus. The thought that hit me recently: I don’t think Jesus died to make us middle class. Then I thought about it some more. I also don’t believe Jesus died to make us Republicans. Before you get either offended or too pleased, I don’t believe he died to make us Democrats either.

Maybe you’ve never thought it but I have. Okay, maybe I didn’t think it  but I suspect the thought deeply resides in some deep part of my mind and influences what I believe. If these people followed Jesus they wouldn’t be in this position. Everyone knows you should work if you can. But when you run into a woman with deep faith who has been through a kind of hell I could never imagine. Who to get away from that hell would do almost anything you stop and think. To do anything even if that anything means living on the street. You are confronted with ideas that you may not recognize or even admit, but that you believe.middle_quote

The assumption jumps up and screams at me. She is a follower of Jesus Christ who understands pain and suffering so much better than I. You middle class white kid who went to college and whines because dad read a book at your basketball games. Give me a break. A person abused as a child who falls into an abusive relationship as an adult who after years of pain and agony decides being homeless and living on the street is a better way.

I cherish my breakfasts with my friends. I haven’t always. You know those homeless people that bother you. Maybe just me. The ones that think they are entitled. Trust me I eat breakfast with them too but God had to show me that you have to welcome them all to get to the ones that confront your assumptions. That makes you see your bias. That challenge you to understand Jesus didn’t come to make us middle class or even ensure that we are gainfully employed. He came to save us and redeem us. To hold us and love us. Because the world is an ugly place. We need it oh so bad.

I know what is next on my agenda. Pray for me that I can see it through. God bless.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Bill permalink
    January 9, 2014 2:53 am

    Well said, Darin. The Holy Spirit is putting a lot before me these past few weeks.

  2. January 9, 2014 7:13 pm

    I am honored to have you drop in on my blog. Always good to be seeking to stay in step with the Holy Spirit. God bless.

Leave a Reply

