Skip to content

I Can Come to Church?

March 11, 2014

rightMaybe it is just me, but sometimes I think I forget. Yesterday I ran into one of my homeless friends around town. I saw him and went out of my way to say hello. It was fun and I gave him a hard time. I figured he wouldn’t recognize me outside of our building since it wasn’t breakfast.

The interesting thing is when I saw him the thought hit me that I needed to invite him to church. Now that is a bit embarrassing. I am in the invite people business and yet it struck me that I had never really made sure this young man knew he was welcome to worship with us on Sundays.

That is when it got interesting. You see he was surprised that he could come. He was shocked that I asked. It got me to thinking, how often do I assume people know they are welcome to come? How often do I not even think to ask? Certain types of people I have no problem with but those on the fringe? Do I forget?

Homelessness is not a dirty word. They are not lepers and even if they were, where would Jesus be? I’m pretty sure I know how welcoming he would be and here I am forgetting to make sure he knows he can come.

I pray he comes. I know we will make him feel welcome. I made sure to repeated the invitation this morning over breakfast.

I have to remember that not everyone knows. Some have experienced the same religious types that Jesus did. Those you find in places like Luke 7:36-50. They couldn’t believe Jesus would allow a sinful woman to wash his feet with her tears.  Keep this in mind next time, I know I’m going to try.

Do you know of someone you need to invite today? I pray they say yes as you invite them into a relationship with their Creator through Jesus Christ.

God bless.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

