Skip to content

The Most Important Part of My Day

June 17, 2014

I was sitting at my desk when I thought I heard the front door of our church building jingle. A couple of years ago for Christmas someone put bells on the door to be festive. This way throughout Christmas there would be ringing when anyone entered. I liked the bells because they warned me when anyone came in the building during the week so I had them leave the bells up.

This morning I was sure I heard them ring. I would have checked to see but I received a phone call from a good friend about the same time as the ringing bells. I figured if the person wanted me they would find me and so I began to have a conversation with the friend on the phone.

A few minutes into the call I began to hear someone sing. My friend on the other end of the phone suggested it might be the cleaning lady. I let him know she comes in on Monday and that I had never heard her sing, never ever while she cleaned.

So we ended our phone call and I went to find the singer. When I peeked around the sanctuary doors I recognized our worshiping friend. Definitely not the cleaning woman. Just a woman that comes by from time to time. A woman up in years. A woman who isn’t always there.

So I let her go on singing. It was nice until I needed a cup of coffee. Then I was going to have to pass the back of the sanctuary. I thought I could do it quietly so as not to disturb her time of worship.

quote_extractI failed. Miserably. She stopped singing and turned to see who was passing by. It really wasn’t my fault, our old building creaks when you walk down the hall. Anyway, she had me cornered and so she began to share.

It was in that moment, when I was thinking about how I could extract myself from the conversation as quickly and politely as possible, that it hit me. This is the most important conversation I will have today. That I needed to change my view of this exchange. This wasn’t some nuisance that was keeping me from something more important, the class I was working on for CCYC Youth Camp. This was the most important event of my day.

So I asked God for forgiveness and I listened. I listened to a woman share stories of her family and friends. Her background. Her life. Yes at certain points I wasn’t sure of the information I was receiving but why did that matter?

So I sat and listened to a woman share her story and I was blessed, and I thought I should share it with you as well.

“The end of all things is near. Therefore be alert and of sober mind so that you may pray. Above all, love each other deeply, because love covers over a multitude of sins. Offer hospitality to one another without grumbling. Each of you should use whatever gift you have received to serve others, as faithful stewards of God’s grace in its various forms.” 1 Peter 4:7-10 NIV

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Daniel Burns permalink
    June 17, 2014 7:33 pm

    It was very early in my ministry, when I was complaining about being interrupted that I was told, “Daniel, most ministry takes place in those interruptions.” I have never stopped looking at it that way.

Leave a Reply

