Skip to content

Cruiser Bikes are Making a Comeback!

June 21, 2012

“Nice bikes.”

It was all I had to say. They were nice bikes. I didn’t make that up. It seems that bikes have gone retro. These looked like they were straight out of “Leave it to Beaver” right down to the handlebars. They looked so retro they look like they came from before my time. In case you wondered bikes made to look like they came from youth would have banana seats.

Three of the bikes were new and sharp and standing up for all to see. One was an older mountain bike and it was simply lying on the ground. I told them after looking at these sharp retro bikes no wonder they just left that one laying on the ground.

I asked who owned which one and they explained. We came to the sorry one on the ground and I looked at mom. “This one is yours isn’t it?” She confessed but she defended the bike, she told me it wasn’t on the ground because she was embarrassed, it was because the bike no longer had a kick-stand. I told her it was probably better that way.

I’m not sure that this is the best way to meet people but it is better than nothing at all. It is better than becoming so wrapped up in my own world that I don’t notice others. They were very kind people. The mom got up and introduced herself along with the young ladies. I know where they are at in school and was even able to discuss the sports they are involved in.

They are really sweet people. It was an honor to get to know them by name all because they had nice bikes, and they did have nice bikes.

“Strive for peace with everyone, and for the holiness without which no one will see the Lord.” Hebrews 12:14

In fact, they inspired me! I don’t have it yet but isn’t that a beautiful bike?

No comments yet

Leave a comment